Come On Up To The House: Women Sing Waits

January 1, 2020

Come On Up To The House: Women Sing Waits

Track Listing


  1. Joseph – Come On Up To The House
  2. Aimee Mann – Hold On
  3. Phoebe Bridgers – Georgia Lee
  4. Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer – Ol’ 55


  1. Angie McMahon – Take It With Me
  2. Corinne Bailey Rae – Jersey Girl
  3. Patty Griffin – Ruby’s Arms
  4. Rosanne Cash – Time


  1. Kat Edmonson – You Can Never Hold Back Spring
  2. Iris Dement – House Where Nobody Lives
  3. Courtney Marie Andrews – Downtown Train
  4. The Wild Reeds – Tom Traubert’s Blues

January 2020

The December Record of the Month, the last one of 2019, was Come On Up To The House: Women Sing Waits – a tribute to legendary songwriter Tom Waits in honor of his 70th birthday helmed by a formidable group of female singer/songwriters. The double-vinyl album was pressed on translucent orange vinyl exclusively for the club, and includes an etching of the album art on side D!

The compilation features Patty GriffinAimee MannRosanne CashCorinne Bailey RaeJosephThe Wild ReedsPhoebe Bridgers, and more! Check out the whole track list on the left of this page.

From the curator, Drew Holcomb…

Tom Waits is one of the most enigmatic artists in the history of rock ‘n’ roll. Part circus barker, part brooding master of the love song, part campfire storyteller, he is one of the most respected songwriters in the history of the medium. I fell in love with his work in college, and while he rarely tours, his show in 2006 at the Ryman in Nashville is easily the best concert I have ever seen. 

Here, on Come On Up To The House: Women Sing Waits, a who’s who of legendary female artists take turns bringing their own spin to a dozen of Waits’ best songs. From Rosanne Cash to Corinne Bailey Rae, Joseph to Patty Griffin, the interpreters on this record are all formidable songwriters, and you can hear not just a singer’s take but a writer’s respect in their tributes. My personal favorites are Kat Edmonson’s “You Can Never Hold Back Spring” and Angie McMahon’s stunning and haunting version of “Take it With Me.” 

When I dreamed up this club, this type of record is exactly what I had in mind; a new expression of a classic work, while discovering a dozen artists in the process. I can’t believe we get to send you this record. I hope you enjoy it and find yourself a handful of new favorite artists and a portal in the world of Waits. 

– Drew Holcomb