THE LONE BELLOW - Walk into a Storm


Magnolia Record Club’s Record of the Month in September was The Lone Bellow’s Walk Into A Storm, which is the band’s third studio album and was officially released in September 2017.

The Lone Bellow are a trio from Brooklyn, NY, consisting of Zach Williams (lead vocals, guitar), Kanene Donehey Pipkin (mandolin, bass, vocals), and Brian Elmquist (guitar, vocals).

The vinyl sleeve, designed by Go de Jong, features photos from Ryan Booth. The vinyl comes with a lyric insert featuring photos of the band taken by Eric Ryan Anderson.

Walk Into A Storm was recorded at the historic RCA Studio A in Nashville, TN.


A few years ago, I got invited to a late-night house concert at my friend, Matt Wertz’, house. It was a band from Brooklyn, The Lone Bellow, and they played a 30 minute set in his living room for about forty people. Their debut album came out later that year and quickly got into regular rotation for me. The album was produced by Nashville’s Charlie Peacock and it was full great songs and earnest energy. Their second record was produced by Aaron Dessner of the National and had one of my favorite songs of 2015, "Then Came the Morning”. 
Brian, Zach, and Kanene become friends of mine and Ellie’s, especially after a late night hang on a cruise ship dancing to Taylor Swift. That's a long story, but I can tell you they are fun people. They also moved to Nashville about a year ago.
We are thrilled to feature their eagerly anticipated new album this month. Walk Into a Storm is a big folk-pop sonic gem from the powerhouse trio. I don’t think there is another band making great melodramatic music from the heart like they are. The album is big, bold and full of heart and I am sure you will love it. 


1. Deeper In The Water
2. Is It Ever Gonna Be Easy
3. May You Be Well
4. Come Break My Heart Again
5. Feather

6. Walk Into A Storm
7. Time’s Always Leaving
8. Can’t Be Happy For Long
9. Between The Lines
10. Long Way To Go

Drew Holcomb