The Oh Hellos - Dear Wormwood

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 3.29.22 PM.png

July 2016

Magnolia Record Club’s Record of the Month for July 2016 was the Dear Wormwood vinyl from The Oh Hellos. All vinyl records are 12 inch, 140 gram, but each vinyl is a unique blend of transparent/opaque white and light brown. Vinyl is packaged in a gatefold jacket, which was designed by singer Maggie Heath and includes a poster insert with lyrics and a free download code with each purchase.

The Oh Hellos are a folk rock duo hailing from San Marcos, TX. The duo consists of brother and sister Maggie and Tyler Heath. Dear Wormwood, which was released in October 2015, is the band’s fourth LP. All the songs on the record, except Danse Macabre, which was written by Camille Saint-Saens (Public Domain), were written by the Heath siblings.

The Magnolia Record Club subscribers got a personalized note from our founder and curator, Drew Holcomb, along with the vinyl.

note  from drew

I heard of The Oh Hellos a long time before I heard The Oh Hellos. A handful of friends and fans had told me about their debut EP that came out in 2011, but I never got around to listening to it. Then I saw them open for my friends in NEEDTOBREATHE at The Fontanel Amphitheater outside of Nashville. I was blown away. 

The Oh Hellos are Tyler and Maggie Heath. They record everything just the two of them, playing dozens of instruments and creating lush sonic landscapes full of Americana and folk pop, reminding listeners of Sufjan Stevens, Hem and other theatrical ensembles. They tour as a large 12 piece band, bringing their records to life on the big stage. 

Dear Wormfood feels like a festive literary party. It is a retelling of the CS Lewis classic, "The Screwtape Letters", but this time the narrators are the victims telling the antagonist that they are on to his devilish schemes. It is at times playful, other times epic, and others sanguine. It is a perfect record for vinyl, as it is made to be listened to from start to finish.

I love a band that takes chances, follows a creative muse before the commercial muse. This record is theatrical, heartbreaking, beautiful, and inspiring. I hope you like it as much as I do. I am also thrilled they are coming to my Moon River Music Festival this October. Don't miss them.



  1. Prelude
  2. Bitter Water
  3. There Beneath
  4. In the Blue Hours of Morning
  5. Exeunt
  6. Caesar
  7. This Will End
  8. Pale White Horse
  9. Where Is Your Rider
  10. Soldier, Poet, King
  11. Dear Wormwood
  12. Danse Macabre
  13. Thus Always To Tyrants
Drew Holcomb