Joseph - I'm Alone, No You're Not

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 2.40.40 PM.png


Magnolia Record Club’s Record of the Month for October 2016 was the second studio album from the folk band Joseph, called I’m Alone, No You’re Not.

Joseph is is a trio consisting of three sisters, Natalie Closner Schepman, Allison Closner, and Meegan Closner. The band was formed when Natalie Closner Schepman, the oldest of the three, recruited her sisters to sing on her new project, which now goes by the name “Joseph”.

The album was officially released in August 2016 and it debuted at number one on the Billboard Heartseekers Chart.

“I’m Alone, No You’re Not” was pressed on a piercing-blue vinyl for its Magnolia Record Club release and came with a personalized note from our founder and curator, Drew Holcomb.

Note from Drew

Joseph’s I’m Alone, No You’re Not is one of my favorite albums of 2016. It just came out a few weeks ago and is giving the 3 sisters a serious amount of attention that is well deserved. I first heard of the band when we had Penny & Sparrow open a West Coast tour for us in the Fall of 2014. They have done some recordings and touring together over the last couple years. The Magnolia Record Club family grows very organically as I am sure you can tell by now. 
When I heard “White Flag” a few months ago, I literally stood up out of my chair and was raising my fist in the air by the end of the first chorus. 
I could surrender but I’d just be pretending.
I’d rather be dead than live a lie. 
Burn the White Flag!
Imagine Coldplay with the harmonies of the Beach Boys, but sisters. 
The record is hypnotic, with soaring anthems and quiet laments, armed with an intimacy that can only run in the blood. The magic is working, as the trifecta is touring with James Bay and other international acts, getting booked for the worlds biggest festivals and finding a massive following of their own. Get on board people, this train will be around for a long time. 
- Drew


1. Canyon
2. SOS (Overboard)
3. Blood & Tears
4. Hundred Ways
5. Planets
6. I Don't Mind

7. Whirlwind
8. White Flag
9. More Alive Than Dead
10. Honest
11. Sweet Dreams

Drew Holcomb